FAI Aeromodelling Commission (CIAM)

World Cups

World Cups are a series of international competitions held during the competition flying season.  The competitors range from the highly experienced and successful fliers through those in the mid-field who are working their way up the rankings down to those who are just moving into international competition.  World Cups are an excellent way for young people to taste the thrills of competing in international competition alongside experienced, successful competitors - including current and ex-World or European Champions - and to hone their skills so that they may one day qualify to represent their county in World and Continental Championships.

The season generally begins in February and ends in October in any year. A World Cup is held each year in the categories of:

The World Cups take place in various countries and in various classes within the categories mentioned above. Essentially, a competitor may enter as many World Cups in his particular class as he wishes but only a limited number may count for classification purposes. This number, and the rules, may vary from category to category.

Each category of World Cup has a Co-ordinator who regularly publishes the results during the season. There is a “leader board” for each of the classes which is also updated regularly. The final results and rankings are published at the end of the season. At the annual meeting of the FAI Aeromodelling Commission held in Lausanne, Switzerland, the World Cup winner and the second & third placed competitors in each class are presented with an FAI medal and diploma.

CIAM World Cup Coordinators

CIAM F1 Free Flight Sub-committeeKAYNES Ian W.
CIAM F2 Control Line Sub-committeeBARBARIC Pavol
CIAM F3 RC Aerobatics Sub-committeeROMIJN Bob
CIAM F3 RC Helicopter Sub-committeeEMERY Ian
CIAM F3 RC Pylon Sub-committeeVAN DEN BOSCH Robbert
CIAM F3 RC Soaring Sub-committeeLAZARKOV Sotir S.
CIAM F3 RC Soaring Sub-committeeGAUBATZ Lukas
CIAM F3 RC Soaring Sub-committeeCHRISTENSEN Erik Dahl
CIAM F3 RC Soaring Sub-committeeHAASE Sebastian
CIAM Space Models Sub-committeeJETVIC Dragan